Mind Map: Why use ICTs in teaching

Standard

Here is my initial mind map. Once I got started it was easy to keep going. I chose this program (https://www.text2mindmap.com/) over Bubble.us as I use Bubble.us regularly and I wanted to challenge myself.

I’m not new to mind maps – I use Bubble.us on a weekly basis to create a map of my thoughts and internal ‘to-do’ list. I suffer from what I describe to people as ‘thought overwhelm’ (self-diagnosed, I’m not sure it’s a legitimat condition!). I’m guilty of often taking on more than I can handle, and I become so overwhelmed by thoughts of what I should be doing that I end up really unproductive. So mind maps help me visualise what needs to be done, and I try to focus on one bubble at a time anf work through my list of stuff that needs to get done. It works great, and so does Bubble.us.

Today I used Text 2 Mind Map, and it was really easy. Extremely easy. The text box made it so simple to add ideas or move them around. I love discovering new technology that makes life easier!

So here is my mind map for the weekly tasks:

text2mindmap

(can be found here: www.text2mindmap.com/5t7HV7)

This isn’t a comprehensive mind map, just a quick one full of my initial thoughts about why I think I should use ICT in my teaching.

I have four main points (which I have put in no particular order!). The first being the Australian Curriulum. This point is fairly self-explanatory. I should use ICTs because, quite simpley, I have to. The expectations in the Austarlian Curriculum puts ICT as not only a dedicated learning area (Technologies) but also as a general capability across other learning areas.

My second point: I think I should use ICTs in my teaching because it’s important to explicitly teach digital literacy. On one hand, there will be students with very little access to ICTs at home, and on the other hand there will be students who have an extremely high level of access to ICTs and sometimes also a low level of guidance/supervision. The first group need to have access to ICTs in order to know how to use ICTS, and both grouops need to be taught about online safety and how to react to potentially harmful situations.

The third point is that ICTs save time. Well, generally speaking they save time, execpt when they don’t do what you think they should do and you spend hours trying to work the darn thing out. But, theoretically, when used properly, ICTs can save time… in the classroom, out of the classroom. Save time for students, for teachers, for admin, and also for parents. Skpye parent-teacher interviews, tests automatically marked, data inserted into tables instantly… Think of all the time saved!!

My fourth point is that ICTs enhance learning. There are a number of reasons for this (and also a number of reasons against it, but that’s not what we’re talking about is it!) – ICTs offer the content in innovative and interesting ways. ICTs also offer success: students who struggle to read instructions can still experience success in tasks where the iPad reads for them, and students with disabilities that make it difficult to physically write with a pencil can type their writing tasks. Many students associate ICTs with fun and games, so they are more receptive to ICT-based lessons. ICT can also offer immediate feedback to students – where once a student may have completed an entire 30-minute worksheet wrong due to a basic error, using the right program/application, the student can receive immediate feedback and review their error and achieve success and a deeper understanding of the content.I also forgot to put this point into the mind map, but another piece of information that I will add when I edit the mind map is: ICTs can (sometimes) encourage collaborative learning and interaction.

Now I’m off to have a look at some of my peers mind maps, to see what kinds of ideas they had!

If you’re struggling to get ideas, have a read of this short article on 13 Reasons To Use Educational Technology in Lessons

7 responses »

  1. Alisia, what a fantastic job you have done. I too always find I have way too many thoughts and ideas and I can never get exactly what I want to say out on paper or find the right words to say. I am also always overwhelmed with the amount I take on and never seem to write down my thoughts or plan properly. So for me using bubble.us is such an easy way for me to place all my thoughts down, save it and then add to it. Let’s hope this is a programme that will help me with my future planning and assignments. Also I thought how fantastic would this be to use on the white boards within my kindy. I would love to have some time to play around with it and see if it could work. We always seem to be writing on pieces of paper and then they go missing. This would solve all the problems.

    Like

    • When I worked in Kindergarten, I used mind maps constantly and I find them to be a really wonderful tool! I wrote them on paper, but how great would it be to be able to keep adding and linking ideas on a digital copy without ever running out of space! Such a good idea Tarryn!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Why use ICT’s in the classroom – Mind Map | tarrynstojanovic

  3. Pingback: Why use ICT’s to enhance student’s learning | Brooke Armstrong Blog

  4. Pingback: Why ICT | Pre-service education adventures of Stacey Kruse

  5. Pingback: Developing concept maps using ICTs | Mel's Blog

  6. Pingback: My Concept Map of how ICT can be used in Special Education setting | Maria Etheridge

Leave a Reply

