Falling into overwhelm with EDC3100 and ICT…

Standard

Can I get an ‘amen’?

No seriously, if I’m the only one feeling this, I might cry. EDC3100 is living up to its grueling, unforgiving, relentless reputation, and I’m falling victim!

I consider myself fairly ICT-minded. I love ICTs, I love finding mew ICTs, I love using ICTs. I especially love it when I find ICTs that make things easier for me, and all the better when I can generate some kind of data and visual representation because we all know how much I love data!

But. Woah. EDC3100. You are heavy. I’m feeling the stress as I set my alarm for 5am to wake me up before the kids so I can read through the EDC3100 task I have set for the day. My partner says it’s because I have to complete tasks regularly without leaving it all to the last minute (it’s my signature move), and that might be a part of it, but also… searching for ICT, weeding through mediocre ICTs to find the hidden gems, and then learning how to use new ICT is hard.

So why am I doing this? Well, this is a core course, and I don’t actually have a choice. And also, ICTs are important. Making my mind cemented just how important, as I explored the Australian Curriculum learning areas. Technology is a dedicated learning area for all year levels, and then on top of that, ICT is weaved through every other learning area as a general capability. Students are expected to know how to apply social and ethical protocols and practices, investigate, communicate, manage, operate, and create with ICT. And they aren’t just talking about using Word to type an essay. Nope. They’re talking about innovative and creative ways to manage, operate, investigate, communicate, and create. They’re saying that teachers HAVE to teach students how to apply ethical and social protocols when using ICT.

Obviously, this is why EDC3100 is a core course… ICT isn’t optional. It’s essential to know about ICTs. No, not just know about it, but understand it. I need to have navigated and used the ICT. I can’t teach it if I don’t know it. Simple as that.

Still. EDC3100 is time-consuming, overwhelming, and a little exhausting. If I used Twitter, which I generally don’t, my status would look something like this:
EDC3100… #stressed #whyareICTssohard #toomanyICTsnotenoughtime #EC3100shouldbeworth2creditpoints #justsaying

13 responses »

  1. Pingback: Community benefits | The life and adventures of pink music girl

  2. I couldn’t agree more with you 🙂 I have also gotten up to week two and then just noticed a blog which sent red flags about copyright. So now I am back to the start completely overwhelmed and stressed and about to pac it in.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Feeling Overwhelmed | carrolynwells

  4. Well my first attempt to reblog just failed miserably and I hit the ‘Reblog’ button before I had finished and now all I can see is a half finished sentence on your post so I am sorry for that!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Assignment one and ME | Weblog of Sandra Kohler

  6. I LOVED your post! You summed it up perfectly! It is so frustrating and confusing but seems to be keeping me interested (some how). So much so, I am greatly neglecting the other 3 subjects I am in enrolled in. Hoping if we hang in there, it will all make sense soon……

    Like

  7. Pingback: Overwhelmed! | Pre-service education adventures of Stacey Kruse

  8. I love what you have done here Alisia! And I completely agree with you! I think this subject is one of those things, that after ticking all the boxes and doing all the tasks and activities a:your going to know where all your time went, but b: you are going to be so surprised and amazed with what you have created! I know that already I am beyond where I thought I would be. It is only now that I am starting to feel excited about what lies ahead! I loved reading your post and look forward to further reading 🙂

    Have a lovely day,

    Miss Apple

    Like

  9. Reblogged this on catherinelwilson and commented:
    Hi Alisia,

    You are not alone! That’s funny as ‘leaving things to the last minute’ is also my signature move. I really like that expression! However, with this course I really haven’t left things to the last minute, I’ve been extremely disciplined but still I am behind schedule. You are right, it is partially because those ‘hidden gems’ are hard to find but so worthwhile when you do find them. I was expecting the course to be more about using the interactive white board and Microsoft office but it has taught me so much and I have started to enjoy using the huge array of new technologies. I agree, the workload and timescales are really tough.

    Your post was a few days ago now, so I am hoping you are now back on track.

    Good luck. Your blog looks great; you are definitely doing a fabulous job.

    Kind regards, Catherine

    Like

  10. Hi Alisia,

    You are not alone! That’s funny as ‘leaving things to the last minute’ is also my signature move. I really like that expression! However, with this course I really haven’t left things to the last minute, I’ve been extremely disciplined but still I am behind schedule. You are right, it is partially because those ‘hidden gems’ are hard to find but so worthwhile when you do find them. I was expecting the course to be more about using the interactive white board and Microsoft office but it has taught me so much and I have started to enjoy using the huge array of new technologies. I agree, the workload and timescales are really tough.

    Your post was a few days ago now, so I am hoping you are now back on track.

    Good luck. Your blog looks great; you are definitely doing a fabulous job.

    Kind regards, Catherine

    Like

Leave a Reply

