“Creative and innovative use of strategies with ICT”

Standard

“Creative and innovative use of strategies with ICT” is one line in our Assignment Two rubric. It is, of course, the HD standard, which is (*overachiever alert*) always the best place to aim in my opinion. The full criteria for that section is:

Demonstrates the ability to plan an ICT rich and pedagogically appropriate unit plan
“Creative and innovative use of strategies with ICTs which are clearly supporting the curriculum and assessment intent and are relevant to the learning context and the unit of work.”

Wow. So that’s not a loaded criteria statement at all (/sarcasm)! When I deconstruct the statement I find that it’s basically saying:

To get a HD in this section, I must demonstrate my ability to plan an ICT rich and pedagogically appropriate unit plan by including ICT strategies that are:

  1. creative,
  2. innovative,
  3. clearly supporting the curriculum,
  4. clearly supporting the assessment intent,
  5. relevant to the learning context, and
  6. relevant to the unit of work.

Thinking about creative and innovative ICT strategies links a lot to my last post about my previous experience of integrating ICT into the classroom. Integrating ICT is so much more than popping a Powerpoint into the lesson to introduce a concept, or playing a video or interacting with some games online. Of course, at the same time, I don’t think these are terrible resources, and they do have their strengths, so I’m not going to do away with them entirely, but I really do need to rethink and redesign what I’m doing if this is the extent of my ICT.

I’m starting to panic a little… time for some calm deep breaths and to turn all of my attention squarely to Module 2 (which won’t be hard at all with two small children, work, and a wedding to plan!)!!

One response »

  1. Pingback: ICT for Assessment Purpose | Mrs J P Finan

Leave a Reply

