Ideas for Learning Experiences

Standard

Following on from my previous post detailing some of my ideas for my Assignment 2 unit plan, this post is going a step further to consider some resources and ideas for learning experiences based on the learning objectives I have chosen.

The learning objectives are:

  • Identify a question of interest based on one categorical variable. Gather data relevant to the question (ACMSP048)
  • Collect, check and classify data (ACMSP049)
  • Create displays of data using lists, table and picture graphs and interpret them (ACMSP050)

I found some resources focused on data collection and interpretation. Initially a lot of the resources I found were paper-based, and were limited in their ICT use. It took some time and tweaking of the search terms to uncover experiences that effectively integrated ICT beyond simply substituting or augmenting tasks. It was surprising as well, considering the applications that could be accessed to help students gather, record, present, and interpret data! Of course, not every context has the ICT (e.g. Whiteboards, iPads) to do this, but since ICT is a general capability in the Australian Curriculum I expected to find more lessons and resources that utilised ICT in a transformational way.

I expected experiences integrating ICT to be readily available. It wasn’t difficult to find, but I did have to keep changing my search terms. Often a major constraint to ICT use is the teacher, and I do wonder if this fact is related to the availability of example learning experiences and lesson ideas that integrate ICT.

Leave a Reply

